Southern Cornbread

The other night my mom made chili (one of my favorite meals ever!) and I decided to make some Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread. I found the recipe a little while about and thought it sounded amazing. Plus, it’s made in a cast-iron skillet and my family just bought one. So I made it. Aaaand it didn’t turn out so good. It was my fault, though. The recipe called for buttermilk and I only had milk so I added some lemon juice to the milk. Apparently I added way too much because when I bit into the cornbread, all I could taste was lemon. I want to try to make it again, though, because I just think the concept sounds amazing!

The next night, we were having leftover chili. I really wanted cornbread so I made some plain cornbread from a recipe I’ve used a bunch of times. I made this cornbread for the first time several months ago but the pictures were so bad that I never posted about it! I made this several times this summer when we were in Maine. One night we had a big gathering and had a lot of chili so I made about 4 batches of this. Everyone who has is says that it’s the best cornbread they’ve ever had! I think it’s amazing, too. I always eat way too much whenever I make it!

This is so easy to make and tastes amazing :) I would definitely recommend it next time you have some chili!

Southern Cornbread

Recipe from Bakergirl (love this girl! check out all her amazing recipes)

Ingredients:

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus more for the pan
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup yellow cornmeal (I only had white but that worked fine)
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup buttermilk (or milk with a little bit of lemon juice)
2 large eggs

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425°F. Butter an 8-inch-square baking pan.
  2. Melt the butter in the microwave and set it aside to cool.
  3. In a bowl, mix together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.
  4. In a large bowl, whisk together the buttermilk and eggs. Add the melted butter.
  5. Gradually add the flour-cornmeal mixture and stir just until just combined.
  6. Pour the batter into the pan. Bake until the cornbread just begins to brown and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, 18 to 23 minutes.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

