Good For You Pumpkin Banana Muffins

I know, I know, I’ve been posting lots of recipes of muffins and stuff. But these are really good! I made them with my littlest sister the other night and they were really easy to make and turned out delicious! We both loved them. Another reason to love these cookies, other than the fact that they taste delicious, is that they’re low calorie! I got the recipe from Gina’s Weight Watcher Recipes. She has a ton of delicious-looking recipes and I was excited to try some out. At 146 calories each, you definitely can’t feel bad about enjoying these (unless you smother them with butter haha).

So I have a thing about the word….moist. (Ahhh!) I really cannot stand the m-word. On all the recipes on this blog, I’ve been very careful to say that they were very “not dry.” But there really is no other word to describe these muffins besides…moise (cringe). I was really surprised that this recipe yielded such not-dry muffins since there’s only 2 tablespoons of butter. The only thing I would say about these muffins is that I would add some more spices next time. They tasted slightly bland right out of the oven. But these, like most of the muffins I make, get better as they age. I had one the next morning and it tasted a lot more flavorful! They’re so wonderful after they’re heated in the microwave for a few seconds.

I will absolutely make these again…and soon!

Pumpkin Banana Muffins

Slightly adapted from Gina’s Weight Watcher Recipes.

Makes 12 muffins.

Ingredients:

  • Pam baking spray
  • 3/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 3 very ripe medium bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup pureed pumpkin
  • 2 tbsp butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, unpacked
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 325°. Spray your muffin tin with Pam or use muffin liners.
  • In a medium bowl, mix together dry ingredients.
  • In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer. Add egg whites, egg, bananas, pumpkin and vanilla, and beat at medium speed until thick.
  • Slowly add in the flour mixture and blend at low speed until combined. Don’t overmix!
  • Use an ice cream scoop to put the batter in the muffin tins. Bake for about 18 minutes, or until a toothpick in the middle comes out clean.
  • Enjoy! With butter :D

Leave a Reply

