Daniel Fast Vegetable Soup

I hope you guys are all doing well! I have had an absolutely crazy, hectic week and this weekend is going to be even busier! I have a photo shoot set for tomorrow (SOSO excited!) and Celina has a singing showcase. Sunday we’re playing worship at church and then I’m going to do do several of my photo concentration pictures done! My concentration for my photography class is “self portraits.” So obviously I’m going to be in every picture but I am also using them as a commentary on social issues.

I’ve been working on my college application. I have one more month before it needs to be done. It’s stressful and I’m just ready for it to be over. I am so exausted right now…

So here’s a Daniel fast recipe for you, lovely reader! One of my favorite things I made while on the Daniel Fast was soup. I made several different kinds and they were all delicious! It was a great comfort food for when I wasn’t feeling very good. I don’t actually have any pictures of the soup I made…I always forgot to take one and I doubt it would have looked very delicious anyway. But here’s how I made it:

1 carton of Vegetable Stock

2 chopped potatoes or sweet potatoes

2-3 chopped carrots

1 can of rotel (tomatoes with green chiles)

1/2 cup frozen corn

That’s it! Just dump it all in a pot, add any spices you want (salt, pepper, cajun spices ;) And cook it until the potatoes and carrots are soft, 10-15 minutes.

Another kind of soup I made was sweet potato and quinoa. For this one, I put 1/2 cup of already cooked quinoa along with 1 chopped sweet potato in a smallish pot. I then added 1/2 cup of veggie crumble and some chopped bell peppers. I then added enough vegetable stock to cover all the ingredients, plus a little extra (like how precise this is?). And then I just cooked it until the potatoes were soft. This was so easy to make but beware that the quinoa, even though it’s already cooked, will expand more and take away all the liquids. My soup ended up not being soup as a…thick stew? I don’t know how to word that…there wasn’t much broth anyways. But it was really good!

Sorry these directions are vague but I would encourage you to try different soups if you’re on the fast- it’s easy and a nice break from grapes and carrots and triscuits.

Have a fantabulous weekend!

Leave a Reply

