My Mommy’s Birthday Cake!

Today is my mommy’s birthday! We celebrated her birthday with my grandparents on the 11th, though. I was still fasting (it was my last day of the fast) but I knew I had to make her a cake anyway.

My mom is an amazing person. She is compassionate, smart, sarcastic, funny, and just all around the best! She is a huge chocolate lover, something she passed down to her children, but she shockingly prefers yellow cake to chocolate cake. Living in our family of chocoholics, she hardly ever gets to have yellow cake so I knew that’s what I had to make for her birthday.

Now I have a confession to make…I used a box cake :( I know…I’m so ashamed. But here’s my excuse: I still wasn’t feeling 100% and so I wanted something a little bit easier. Also, I have never made a yellow cake that beat a box cake mix. I have a recipe that I really want to try but I didn’t want to make it for the first time on a cake as important as this one and then not have it turn out! See! I’m really thoughtful!

Here’s the key, though, if you make a yellow cake from a box mix- you HAVE to get the kind that’s made with butter. Not oil, butter. This makes the cake so much more delicious.

With butter!

I made the MOST DELICIOUS chocolate frosting from one of my favorite bloggers, Sugar Plum. I’ve talked about this frosting before and it is seriously outstanding. Here’s the cake before I frosted it!

I think this is one of the prettiest cakes I’ve ever made. I made extra frosting so I’d have a ton to fill the cake and lots to frost it! It worked out really well. Then I decided to make chocolate drizzled strawberries for the top.

This was really fun to make! And my family said it was one of the best cakes I’ve ever made- they liked the simplicity (somethings most of my cakes lack ;)

Tonight we’re all going out to eat to celebrate :) I’m pretty excited for it!

Sugar Plum’s Chocolate Frosting

I made 1.5 of this recipe for this cake. You don’t have to but I like a lot of frosting!

2/3 cup granulated sugar +1/3 cup
1/3 cup all-purpose flour +1/6 cup
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder +1/5 tablespoons
1/8 teaspoon salt +a tiny extra
1 cup milk +1/2 cup
1 cup unsalted butter, softened +1/2 cup
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips, melted + 1/2 cup

In a small saucepan, whisk together sugar, flour, cocoa, salt and milk until it boils. Whisk the mixture frequently until it gets very thick (about one minute). Strain the mixture into a small bowl and cool it completely in the refrigerator or freezer.

When the strained “pudding mixture” is cooled, beat butter in a large mixing bowl until creamy, about 1 minute. Beat in “chocolate pudding” mixture until well combined, about 1 minute. Beat in melted chocolate until well combined and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Spread frosting onto cake layers.

I shared this post over at Tasty Tuesdays and Sweets for a Saturday and on Foodie Friday and This Chick can Cook!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 01:02:31

    That cake looks yummy! Thanks for linking up to Sweets for a Saturday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

