Potato Wedges and Veggies

Hello! It’s been a while since we spoke last! How ya been?

Good? Well I’m glad to hear it! How have I been? Oh so nice of you to ask! I’ve been doing pretty well although the past week and a half have been a little rough! Why you ask? Gosh you are so considerate! Well I haven’t been feeling very good. I had several days with really bad migraines which was just blaaahh. But I upped my dosage on one of my medicines and have been doing well since then! But then my darling youngest sister started Kindergarten (I can’t believe she’s so old!) and those Kindergarten germs got her sick aaaaand then she got me sick. So I’m still recovering from a really bad cold.

I also haven’t posted because school has been crazy. I have had so much work to do and it’s been pretty overwhelming. I think I’m getting the hang of it though and I’ve done well on my tests and stuff so far! The whole college application thing is really freaking me out! I should just get it over with…in all my spare time…ha. ha.

I have been cooking a lot the past week and a half because of the Daniel Fast. I don’t know why I haven’t been taking pictures of the meals I make! I’ll be better about that. The fast has been going fine. I feel like I haven’t gotten much out of it but I blame not feeling good. However I have invented several new recipes that I love! And they’re really healthy. The first week of the fast was super easy. I was like “hey! I could eat like this all the time!” but right now I just want a huge bowl of homemade chicken noodle soup made with angel hair pasta. Mmm….pasta.

Anyways….one of the things I’ve made is potato wedges with Cajun spices. I put Cajun spices on everything because I like them and also because I don’t know what other spices to use. Along with the potato wedges I had tomato and cucumber slices and some sauteed peppers (seasoned with Cajun spices of course :P  )

I’m planning on writing a post more about the Daniel fast soon, including what kinds of foods you can eat and some more recipes. Hope you are all doing fantastically!

This recipe is for one serving so take that into account if you want to make more! Chop up one small potato and toss with a tsp of olive oil and 1/2-1 tsp of Cajun spices, depending on how spicy you like things.

Spread the potatoes out on aluminum foil placed on a cookie sheet. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. (Oh! Our oven got fixed!!!! It takes a bit longer to preheat but now it doesn’t just randomly shut off!) Bake the potatoes for like 10 minutes and then use a spatula to flip them over. Bake them for another…8 minutes? It really just depends on how big your pieces are and how accurate your oven is..just watch them :)

Cook up those bell peppers! I just used about 1/4 of a pepper for this since I was just making it for me. Chop up some other veggies that you like and put them all pretty like on a plate!

Makes 1 serving

Ingredients:

Olive Oil

Potato

Veggies

Cajun Spices

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Cut up your potato into small, evenly sized pieces. Put them in a bowl and toss with 1 tsp olive oil and 1/2-1 tsp Cajun spices. Place potatoes on an aluminum foil covered cookie sheet and bake for 10 minutes. Take them out of the oven and flip the potato pieces. Put them back in the oven for 8-10 minutes, or until crispy.

If you want to make the peppers just chop up a bell pepper into small pieces (I used 1/4 of a pepper). Put some olive oil in a skillet and throw the peppers in there along with some Cajun spices. Cook on high heat until blackened and soft.

Serve with other veggies you like!

**UPDATE** My parents actually made this for dinner and we had the potatoes along with sauteed portabella mushrooms, onions, and bell peppers. It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

