Taco Pasta…and no comments on the thing that didn’t happen today.

I’m not going to talk about that…thing…that happened today. Maybe tomorrow. But talking about it now would make it real. And it would mean that summer is…over. Sniffle.

So instead I’m gonna share what I made for dinner last night. It was delicious! I will totally make this again. What is taco pasta? Think hamburger helper on steroids…mmm steroids.

Ha. ha. Just kidding.

You will need some Ro-tel for this pasta! I used one can of tomatoes with habaneros and one with green chilies. I like food to be spicy! But it really wasn’t very spicy. Next time I think I’ll use two cans of the habaneros.

Sometimes I think I freak out about things that don’t need freaking out about. For example, I bought shell pasta. But the box said “salad shells” and I’m going “oh my gosh…I’m not making salad…is this still going to be ok?????” turns out, it’s just normal pasta.

Also, in all the movies and stuff people are always crying when they chop up onions. Like it’s the classic thing for character Anna to have tears in her eyes and Anna’s friend, Suzy, will be like “Why are you sad? I knew you loved Fernando!” And Anna’s like “No! I’m just chopping onion!” But really they are crying because Fernando, her Spanish love, just returned to Spain to be with Isabella, the beautiful flamenco dancer. All that to say, I was flipping out while chopping the onion because I thought I was gonna start crying. But I didn’t. Anticlimactic much?

Put the onions and a pound of beef in a large skillet and cook until the meat is browned. Then drain the extra fat. Add the Ro-tel and taco seasoning and let simmer for like 5 minutes. While you’re doing this, the salad shells should be cooking. You don’t have to use salad shells. You can use any small pasta. But I liked the shells because the meat and all that stuff goes in the shells and it’s all yummy.

Then you add the cream cheese, sour cream, and pasta. Mix it until it’s all mixed! Then put some shredded cheese on top and wait until it melts. Then eat. It’s so delicious!

This is really filling! It makes a TON which is great because there were lots of leftovers. And it’s really easy to make. I would definitely recommend this!

Ingredients:

16oz (dry) small pasta

1 lb ground beef

1 small onion, chopped

2 ten-ounce cans of Ro-tel, slightly drained

2 packets taco seasoning

8oz cream cheese

1 cup sour cream

Shredded cheese (however much you want)

Directions:

Boil a large pot of water and cook the pasta according to the package directions. Drain and reserve 1 cup of the pasta water and set it aside.

In a large skillet, cook the ground meat and onion over medium-high heat until no longer pink. Once the meat is cooked through, drain off the excess fat. Mix in the ro-tel and taco seasoning and let it simmer over medium heat for about 5 minutes. Add in the cream cheese and sour cream and stir until mostly blended. Now add the pasta and mix it all up. Add the pasta water if you think the sauce is too thick…I didn’t need it. Keep stirring until it’s all blended, adding salt and pepper if you feel like it! Top this with some shredded cheese and cover with lid just until the cheese is melted.

And then eat it! Lots!

Leave a Reply

