Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

Today (well really yesterday) was not the best day ever. It was gross outside and I wasn’t feeling great and I was tired and cranky. I just got this new mini muffin tin and I really wanted to make mini cupcakes so that’s what I decided to do. Little did I know that it would be such an ordeal to create these little cuties!

I made Pioneer Woman Chocolate Cake for the cupcake part. Because one recipe makes 24 regular-sized cupcakes, I halved it to make 24 mini-sized cupcakes. Well I forgot I was halving it half way through and added double the chocolate necessary. While I’m not opposed to SUPER chocolate cupcakes, I didn’t wanna test it. Sooo I had to start over. Then I got to the end of the recipe and…uhh there’s no baking soda. Blah! Luckily, my dad found some in the garage. Alright, crisis averted. So I put them in the mini cupcake tin (which was rather difficult and messy but I got over it) and put them in the oven. Really these only should have taken 10 minutes to bake. But the oven shut off. 45 minutes later, they were cooked. I was a little…irritated at this point. So I decided to make rice. The rice was yummy.

Here’s my new muffin tin. The little cupcake holder thingies were too small for the tins…they worked but I would prefer to find ones that fit a little better.

Later that night, I felt more at peace with the cupcakes and made the frosting for them. And frosted them. And then had fun taking the pictures. And then I ate them. Their adorable-ness and their yummy-ness made up for all the trouble they caused me!

It’s peanut butter frosting! Yummy yummy yummy! I have a slight obsession with peanut butter…I’ve been eating way more peanut butter than nutella the past 6 months (gasp!). Although now that I’ve made this, I want to make cake with nutella frosting! Ahhh…my nutella frosting is delicious!

I’m really wanting to get in to food photography. Usually I just snap a quick picture of the food I make but since I love photography so much, I thought I might as well have fun with my food photography! It’s hard, though, because the lighting in the kitchen isn’t good and when I’m making dinner, I’m usually just focused with eating dinner and feeding my family. But when I bake, I can take some time to photograph stuff! I did that tonight. I think the pictures turned out pretty cute :)

These were SO good. You have to eat them with cold milk…it ups the yummy-ness factor by like 10. And because they’re mini, they have no calories. So you don’t have to feel guilty when you eat 9 of them… :D

Pioneer Woman Chocolate Cake– Halve this recipe if you want to make 24 mini cupcakes or 12 regular size.

Peanut Butter Frosting– This recipe makes enough to frost the 24 mini cupcakes.

Leave a Reply

