Pioneer Woman Lasagna

I have not enjoyed the weather lately. It’s all gross and overcast and stormy. Don’t get me wrong, I love storms. But if it’s going to be all icky outside, it might as well really storm. I don’t like this sprinkling nonsense. This sort of weather makes me all tired and lethargic. I just want to curl up in my flannel pajamas and eat soup and drink hot chocolate and watch movies. I realized today that I haven’t done something I really wanted to do this summer- try to bake chocolate chip cookies in the car! And now I’ve missed my chance because it’s going to be all rainy and cold (hem high 80s) until school starts! Hopefully the end of August or September has some more sunny 100+ days so I can make those cookies. Anyways…

The other night I decided I was going to make dinner and I was looking through recipes, trying to decide on what to make. I finally decided to try Pioneer Woman “Best Ever” Lasagna. I’ve always loved lasagna- I used to make it with my grandpa. Pioneer Woman recipes rarely disappoint (her best ever chocolate sheet cake is my absolute favorite!) but I wasn’t crazy about this lasagna. I really think it comes down to personal preference, though. My family likes lasagna with more noodles and not quite as much sauce and stuff. This lasagna had only 2 layers of noodles and a ton of meat and cheese. If I made this again, I would definitely do 3 layers of noodles with the same amount of filling. I still love Pioneer Woman even though we have different tastes in lasagna :)

I would definitely make some changes if I made this again. Like I said, I would do 3 layers of noodles instead of 2. I would also use fresh grated Parmesan instead of the canned kind which she called for. I would also use crushed canned tomatoes instead of whole- I’m not a fan of huge pieces of tomato so when I was making this I just crushed them up myself while they were cooking in the pan.

Brown the meat:

Add some tomatoes and stuff:

Let simmer for 45 minutes:

Make the cottage cheese mixture (looks and sounds gross but it really isn’t, promise):

Noodles! I was so hungry when making this that I ended up eating half a banana and peanut butter. And then I was still hungry so I started eating one of the extra noodles. But it was gross.

Start layering!

I thought it was neat that pioneer woman uses sliced cheese instead of shredded. I don’t think there’s much difference in taste but it was neat.

Sprinkle it with cheese:

And enjoy!

Pioneer Woman Lasagna:

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 pound Ground Beef
  • 1 pound Hot Breakfast Sausage
  • 2 cans (14.5 Ounce) Whole Tomatoes
  • 2 cans (6 Ounce) Tomato Paste
  • 2 Tablespoons Dried Parsley
  • 2 Tablespoons Dried Basil
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 3 cups Lowfat Cottage Cheese
  • 2 whole Beaten Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Grated (not Shredded) Parmesan Cheese
  • 2 Tablespoons Dried Parsley
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 pound Sliced Mozzarella Cheese
  • 8 Lasagna Noodles for 2 layers or 12 for 3 layers
  • (add 1/2 Teaspoon Salt And 1 Tablespoon Olive Oil To Pasta Water)

Preparation Instructions

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.

In large skillet or saucepan, combine ground beef, sausage. Cook over medium-high heat until browned. Drain half the fat. Add tomatoes, tomato paste, 2 tablespoons parsley, basil and salt. After adding the tomatoes, the sauce mixture should simmer for 45 minutes.

While that’s simmering, in a medium bowl, mix cottage cheese, beaten eggs, grated Parmesan, 2 more tablespoons parsley, and 1 more teaspoon salt. Stir together well. Set aside.

Bring a pot of water to boil with the olive oil and salt. Cook lasagna noodles until al dente.

To assemble:
Arrange 4 cooked lasagna noodles in the bottom of a baking pan, overlapping if necessary. Spoon half the cottage cheese mixture over the noodles. Spread evenly. Cover cottage cheese with a layer of mozzarella cheese. Spoon a little less than half the meat/sauce mixture over the top.

Repeat, ending with meat/sauce mixture. Sprinkle top with extra Parmesan.

Put it in the oven at 350-degree for 20-30 minutes, or until top is hot and bubbly.

Pioneer woman also says you can freeze it or refrigerate (for up to two days) instead of baking it right away.

Leave a Reply

