Peach Crisp

There are a couple of reasons I couldn’t become a professional baker. The first is, professional bakers need functional ovens. That’s something I don’t have. I would have taken better photos of this crisp but the oven stopped working while it was baking and I just got really irritated with the whole thing. It tasted good but I think I hated it a little bit because of the oven drama. The second reason is that bakers need to be very precise in their measurements and pay attention while baking. I do neither of these things. I didn’t have a recipe for peach crisp so I kinda just winged it. But I didn’t take note of how many peaches I used…so if you want to make this you’re on your own!

I am not a huge fan of peaches but, like I said in the peach scone post, my grandparents gave us a ton of peaches and they were going to go bad and I wanted to bake something so…2 peach recipes! This crisp was pretty good. It has the same topping as the Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp which is so tasty!

Here’s the crisp! The timer went off and the oven was cold. So I had to try broiling it and then after a while the oven turned back on. So it ended up being fully cooked which was good :) I think crisp has to be eaten with vanilla ice cream- it makes it so much better! But we didn’t have any so I made some whipped cream which was also very tasty.

Recipe:

10 or more peaches

3/4 cup sugar

2 Tbs flour

Topping:

1 stick of butter

1 cup oats

1 cup loosely packed brown sugar

1 cup flour

Dash of cinnamon

Directions:

Peal the peaches and cut them up in to smallish medium pieces (see the whole precise thing going on here). Put them in a bowl and mix in sugar and flour. Mix it up with your hands and get it all coated. Then put it in a glass baking dish (9 by 11ish or a similar size). Now make the topping! Mix together one stick of butter (kinda melty) with the oats, brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Put this over the peaches and bake at 350 degrees for about 38 minutes. Or more if your oven stops working. Just make sure the peaches are soft and bubbling. Now take a nice big scoop and put it in a bowl…and eat it. Mmmmm :)

Leave a Reply

