Lemon Basil Pasta with Chicken

I made dinner the other night- I wasn’t sure what to make but I was in the mood for pasta! I settled on Pioneer Woman Grilled Chicken with Lemon Basil Pasta. Except I didn’t grill the chicken. Because grills are big and manly. And I am not. Don’t comment on that.

So I thought this pasta was pretty good! My family (especially my mom) loved it. The recipe calls for Penne pasta but I was really craving angel hair. It worked with angel hair but I think it would have been better with penne because the angel hair was a little fragile to hold the sauce. On the plus size, we have a flourishing basil plant so I got to use fresh basil!

I marinated the chicken in lemon juice, some dijon mustard, and honey for a couple hours. Then I pan fried them- making the whole house fill like smoke. I swear I do that every time I cook. But I have yet to set off the smoke detector (at my house…).

After cooking the chicken, which was very nice and lemony, I cooked the pasta and prepared the sauce. The sauce was cream based with lots of parmesan. The texture of the sauce was kinda…grainy. I couldn’t get it to get smooth even with adding water and stuff. I don’t know how I could do it differently in the future…

I added the sauce to the pasta and also added the chopped up basil.

Then ate it with the chicken! This wasn’t my favorite dish I’ve ever made but it was still good!

Recipe slightly adapted from Pioneer Woman:

Ingredients

  • 3 whole Grilled Chicken Breasts, sliced
  • 1 pound angel hair pasta (or penne), Cooked Until Al Dente
  • 1/2 stick Butter
  • 3 whole Lemons, Juiced
  • 1/2 cup Heavy Cream
  • 1/2 cup Half-and-half
  • 1-1/2 cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Salt And Freshly Ground Black Pepper, To Taste
  • 20 whole Basil Leaves, Chopped

Preparation Instructions:

Marinate the chicken (for at least several hours) in a bunch of lemon juice, some honey, and dijon mustard.

Cook pasta, reserving 1 cup of hot pasta water when you drain. Set pasta aside.

Now melt the butter over medium heat. Add the juice from 3-4 lemons and whisk it all together. Pour in the cream and half-and-half and whisk it until hot. Dump in the cheese and whisk until melted. Add salt and pepper. Check consistency, adding some of the hot pasta water to loosen the sauce if needed.

Pour pasta and sauce into a large serving bowl. Sprinkle remaining basil all over the top, then add sliced chicken breasts. Serve immediately!

Leave a Reply

