Trust

I feel like God really uses the summers to teach me things. Well of course He uses every day throughout the year but summer is a time where I don’t have the distractions of school and God really speaks to me and works in that time.

Last summer He taught me how without Him, I am nothing. I was so broken and He spent all this past year building me back up. This whole past year the verse I have remembered and repeated to myself countless times is 1 Peter 3:4 from the Message: Cultivate inner beauty, the gentle, gracious kind that God delights in.

This summer I feel like God’s message to me has been a little different. He used Haiti to teach me that I am a lot stronger than I thought. This coming year I am facing a lot of uncertainty with high school, college, and life in general. He has given me confidence that I have the strength to get through this year. But He’s really asking me to trust Him. I don’t like not having a plan, feeling uncertain about what’s coming next. It’s hard for me to surrender all of this worry and just trust that He will take care of everything and that I will get through this year just fine, I will end up at the college that I need to, that I won’t have to stress about whether or not to get a job and finances for college. He’s telling me that I need to just pray and trust. This is the verse that I have in my heart right now…and that I anticipate will be on my mind for most of this coming year: Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me.

Leave a Reply

