BBQ Sliders and stuff

Tan lines are just infuriating. I like being tan but all this stripe nonsense is obnoxious. There. I just had to get that out of my system.

I leave for Haiti in 10 days. That is just crazy! I feel like there’s so much I need to do and I feel like I won’t be ready…but I know that God will take care of things and provide for me like he has the whole time I’ve been preparing for this trip. I’ve been so blessed by all the support I’ve received from everyone. It’s been very encouraging! I’m a little nervous about going but absolutely can’t wait :) And more good news, I took my first malaria pill today. Everyone had been telling me how awful they were but I didn’t get sick! So hopefully I have a good experience with taking the rest of the pills. I would really appreciate your prayers for me and the other people I’m going with while I’m in Haiti :)

So, on a completely different note, the other night I made BBQ sliders for dinner. It was the first time I had ever had to…touch beef. Ewwwwwww. Actually it wasn’t that bad. But meat really is pretty gross. I think that raw chicken is more gross than raw beef though. (I probably shouldn’t be talking about how gross I find meat before I post pictures of the hamburgers I made…hem hem.)

So anyways. For these sliders, I put some cajun spices in the beef and formed them into little patties. I then brushed barbecue sauce over them. Then I grilled them. I was going to make them in the oven, which you can totally do if you have a oven that works consistently and you’re not also making cajun sweet potato fries. Jim helped me grill them because I’d never done that before and was rather terrified by the whole thing. After flipping them on the grill I (err Jim) brushed more BBQ sauce on them. We ate these on Hawaiian Sweet Rolls. Those rolls are soooo good! On my slider I had some cheddar cheese and ketchup and grilled pineapple slices. I thought it was really yummy :)

Along with the sliders, I also made sweet potato fries. I think they turned out pretty good but weren’t as crispy as I wanted them to be. Is there a trick to making oven baked fries crispy? I never can see to do it. I put a ton of cajun spices on the fries so they were really spicy! The flavor was yummy I just wish they were crispier.

Let me clear something up, sweet potatoes are not the same thing as yams. Yams are from Africa I believe. What we eat are most definitely sweet potatoes. According to Wikipedia, Yams are part of the Dioscoreaceae family and sweet potatoes are not part of this family. So don’t be calling sweet potatoes yams people. That’s right.

When I was chopping up these definitely-not-yams, I thought I was going to cut off a couple fingers…or my hand. But I managed to cut them up and just lose one finger! Ha. ha. Just kidding.

So after I had them all cut up into fries, I put them in a big ziplock back and put some oil and lots of spices in there and mixed it up. I don’t have pictures of that. Or of the final fries. Because the next little while was very stressful with the oven shutting off and trying to do the sliders and all that. But I put them on a cookie sheet and cooked them at 450 or 500 degrees for like 30 mins (flipping them over after 15 mins).

Here’s my plate! Doesn’t that look yummy! Oh look, there you can see a picture of the fries. Don’t they look good? And the slider was all cute and yummy. And there’s my ketchup and pineapple slices and oh what’s that? Corn on the cob in the background?! Yeah it was a pretty fancy meal! And we had Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp for dessert!

BBQ Slider Recipe:

Inspired by Pioneer Woman’s sliders.

Beef (I used 3lbs and it made 16 sliders…we put the extras in the fridge for leftovers)

4 tsp spices (I used cajun spices…the recipe for that is here)

1/4 cup BBQ sauce (or as much as you want really…)

Mini Rolls

Directions:

Put the spices into the meat and mix around with your hand (I actually did that…kinda proud of myself). Form beef into little patties and brush BBQ sauce over them. Oh and apparently you’re supposed to put a dent on the top of the patties. Now put them in the fridge for like 30 minutes. You can skip this step but Pioneer Woman recommended it. And I had time. So I did it. Now either put them in the oven for 20-25 minutes at 400 degrees or grill them for like 5 or 6 minutes. If you grill them, you can put more BBQ sauce on them after you flip them. Once the patties are done, put them on rolls and serve with ketchup or bbq sauce. I would totally recommend grilling some pineapple slices and putting them on there. It’s not weird, it’s delicious.

Cajun Sweet Potato Fries:

Recipe from Simply Recipes :)

3 Sweet Potatoes

1/4 cup olive oil

1-2 Tbs brown sugar

2 Tbs Cajun Spices

Directions:

Chop up the sweet potatoes into similar size pieces. Put them in a big ziplock bag with olive oil and cajun spices. Arrange on 2 baking sheets and bake at 450+ degrees for 30 minutes (flipping them over halfway through). Eat. And tell me if you manage to get them crispy and then tell me how you did it.

And there you have it!

Leave a Reply

