Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

This has been a long day. Not really bad…just felt really long. I had a slow morning…ate some Special K with banana slices which is one of my favorite (healthy) breakfasts. For lunch I had half a grilled peanut butter and banana sandwich. I love the peanut butter and banana combo. I’ll slice up a banana and eat it with peanut butter, I have it on waffles, sandwiches, toast, in smoothies. It’s just so good! I need to bake something with banana and peanut butter soon…bread maybe? Muffins?

Well anyways, after lunch I went to the pool. I’ve been to my neighborhood quite a bit recently. I like going there to just read and swim around- the water is finally warming up! I’ve been reading Life of Pi. Actually I read it and then when I finished it I felt like I hadn’t really gotten the most out of it…so now I’m reading it again! It’s a really intriguing book if you’re looking for something to read.

I came home and worked out…I did the elliptical. I’ve been doing that a lot lately. I got sick of Jillian beating me up every day. The elliptical is rather difficult but he’s a little bit nicer than Jillian. His name is Phillip. Why? Because I just named him that. So after I worked out on Phillip (ok that sounds incredibly awkward) I showered and then went to Kroger to pick up some last minute things for my baking/cooking this afternoon.

The other day I saw rhubarb in Kroger and I was like “Yes! Time for strawberry-rhubarb crisp!” When we checked out at the store, this was the very interesting conversation we had:

Checkout Girl 1- What is this?

Mom- Rhubarb

Checkout Girl 1- What?? I’ve never even heard of that. Checkout Boy 1, do you know the code for this?

Checkout Boy 1- What is it?

Mom- Rhubarb

Checkout Boy 1- Ruu…par? What? I’ve never heard of that.

Mom- Ruuuuubaaarrb. R-H-U

Checkout Girl 2- What are you guys looking up?

Checkout Girl 1- Rhubarb?

Checkout Girl 2- Haha what? I’ve never heard of that.

(Do you sense a theme here?)

Jim- Well that means it’s free right?

Checkout people- ha. ha.

Checkout boy 1- The code is blah blah

Me: How do you not know what rhubarb is??? Crazy people. (I didn’t actually say that…)

So yeah..apparently a lot of people don’t know what rhubarb is! I looked up its origins. Apparently it originated in China where is was used because of its supposed medicinal purposes. It then spread to Europe and was introduced to the U.S. in Maine and spread to Massachusetts. Rhubarb production is pretty low now-a-days with most of it being grown in California, Colorado, Washington State, and Oregon. So there you have it!

Do youuu know what rhubarb is? You don’t?!?!?!?!?!??!? OHEMGEE! Come over and have some! It’s delicious!

Well here is it:

This is rhubarb. Go ahead and have a nice big bite! Raw!

Just kidding..don’t do that. Cause then you’ll hunt me down and yell at me. It’s gross raw. But delicious cooked with sugar! Mmmm! It’s a stalk-like plant thingy and all red and stuff.

I also looked up the difference between cobbler and crisps. I don’t really know the official difference. I think crisps just have topping and cobblers have more of a pie crust top action going on.

The first thing you do for this crisp is cut up the rhubarb (leaving out the leafy top part) into little pieces.

You can make just rhubarb crisp but I like it with strawberries. So you need to cut up a container or two of strawberries. Look at this little guy- isn’t he cute? All bright and red and delicious :) He was almost thrown into a bowl with leftover strawberry and rhubarb pieces that was going to be fed to hungry worms! But I saved him. And then I chopped him up. And baked him. Let’s have a moment of silence.

Here are those remains I was speaking of. Put them in a bowl so your dad can give them to his worms. What? Your computer programming dad didn’t randomly decide he needed some sort of hobby and choose worm farming so now you have tens of thousands of worms in bins in your garage that he lovingly cares for and prepares food for? Huh that’s strange….

After you chop up the strawberries and rhubarb, throw it all in a bowl! It’s about to get a little messy!

Mmmm sugar. That should make you smile! You throw some sugar and flour and I don’t know…something else maybe (?) in with the fruits.

You mix it all together until the strawberries and rhubarb is coated with the yumminess. Do it with your hands! It works better. It’s just messy. Especially when you’re trying to take pictures of what you’re doing. Then you throw it all into a pan.

This is what you need to make your topping! Remember, crisps have yummy crumble toppings.

Put it all in a bowl…see my wooden spoon? I stir my ingredients with a wooden spoon. Because I’m cool. Be jealous.

I mixed it up with the spoon but the butter was not quite melty enough and I ended up using my hands.

Yum yum yum! I love oats. Put that yummy topping over the fruit (is rhubarb technically a fruit?) in the pan. I was worried this wouldn’t be enough topping but there was plenty!

Put that in the oven for about 38 minutes at 350 degrees. And it starts to bubble up and look all delicious!

Look how tasty this looks! If you’re not totally won over right now, you should be. Don’t be freaked out by the rhubarb…it’s really good. I promise. Get a nice big scoop of this and put it in a bowl and top it with vanilla ice cream! Sooo yummy. The hot crisp and cold ice cream helps balance the slight tart-ness of the crisp :) This is one of my favorite desserts. I made this for dessert tonight. I also made dinner but I’ll post about that later :) For now, just go to the store and get some rhubarb and have all the checkout people think you’re weird. It’s so worth it :)

Don’t be freaked out. It’s delightful.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp Recipe

6 stalks of rhubarb

2 (1 lb) containers of strawberries

3/4 cup sugar

2 Tbs flour

Topping:

1 stick of butter

1 cup oats

1 cup loosely packed brown sugar

1 cup flour

Dash of cinnamon

Directions:

Chop up the rhubarb into approximately 1 in pieces. Cut strawberries up into like 4 pieces each. Or 2. It doesn’t really matter. Put rhubarb and strawberries in a bowl and mix in sugar and flour. Mix it up with your hands and get it all coated. Then put it in a glass baking dish (9 by 11ish or a similar size). Now make the topping! Mix together one stick of butter (kinda melty) with the oats, brown sugar, flour, and cinnamon. Put this over the rhubarb and strawberries and bake at 350 degrees for about 38 minutes. Or more. Just make sure the strawberries and rhubarb is soft and bubbling. Now take a nice big scoop and put it in a bowl…and eat it. Mmmmm :)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: BBQ Sliders and stuff « Just Everyday Me

Leave a Reply

