Cajun Chicken Pasta

I have been in the mood for pasta. Pasta and chicken. Yummy yummy pasta. I love pasta when it’s mixed with a lot of things, either peppers or chicken or yummy sauce. This dish had all 3! It’s fettuccine pasta with chicken and bell peppers cooked with flavorful Cajun spices. This isn’t hard to make but err definitely turn on the stove fan because I didn’t and the whole house was filled with smoke.

The first thing you do is chop up your peppers and chicken! Actually the first thing I did was look up what Cajun spices are and mix those together. Then I chopped up the chicken and peppers.

I started the pasta by boiling the water and while that was getting ready I cooked the chicken. You coat the chicken with the Cajun spices and then put them in a skillet. You let one side sit there and cook for like a minute and then flip them over. Watch out for the  oil. It jumped out and attacked my finger. Owwy.

By this time I think I added the pasta to the water….Yep. So you take the chicken out and then you cook up the peppers. And you add more Cajun spices. Yum!

Then you make your sauce. I don’t have step by step pictures of this because I was too busy making the pasta and getting the sauce done and all that stuff. I don’t get how people take these perfect step by step pictures of their cooking. Oh well!

But for the sauce, you cook chicken broth and scrape up all the black stuff from the bottom of the pan so those flavors are in the sauce (that’s the picture above). Then you add the cream and it’s supposed to thicken but mine didn’t really…I was kinda freaking out about it but it turned out ok! So then you add your chicken and peppers to the sauce and add more spices and cook for a bit and then you add the pasta and mix it all together in the pan! I thought that was pretty fun.

Doesn’t this look soooo good?? The answer is yes of course! You kinda let it all blend together in the pan and then you serve it up!

This is one of my favorite dishes EVER! I would get this in a restaurant. I would eat this every day. And then I would cry at my 400 pound body. And feed my sadness with Cajun Chicken Pasta.

I got this recipe from the wonderful Pioneer Woman! I changed several things, though. I’ll post how I made it and if you want to see what she did (which I’m sure is yummy too) click this link –> Cajun Chicken Pasta Original Recipe.

Cajun Spices:

2 teaspoons salt
2 1/2 teaspoons paprika
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 1/4 teaspoons dried oregano
1 1/4 teaspoons dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Mix it all together! I thought this was really good. Adapted from All Recipes.
.

Cajun Chicken Pasta:

3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts, Cut Into Cubes
3 teaspoons Cajun Spice Mix, More To Taste
1 pound Fettuccine
2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
2 Tablespoons Butter
1 whole Green Bell Pepper, Seeded And Sliced
1 whole Red Bell Pepper, Seeded And Sliced
1 whole Orange Bell Pepper, Seeded And Sliced
2 ½ cups Low Sodium Chicken Broth
1 cup Heavy Cream
Cayenne Pepper To Taste
Freshly Ground Black Pepper, To Taste
Salt To Taste

Preparation Instructions:
Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain when pasta is still al dente; do not overcook!

Sprinkle 1 1/2 tsp Cajun spices onto the chicken pieces and toss the chicken around to coat. Put 1 tbs oil and 1tbs butter in a skillet over high heat. Add half of the chicken in a single layer to the pan. Leave the chicken alone for about a minute (don’t wander off or anything now!) until it’s brown on one side. Flip it to the other side and cook it for another minute or so. Take the chicken out of the pan and put it on a plate. Repeat with the other half of the chicken.

Now add the remaining olive oil and butter to the same pan. When heated, add the peppers. Sprinkle on remaining Cajun spice, and add salt if needed. Cook over very high heat for 2 minutes, stirring gently and trying to get the vegetables as dark/black as possible.  Remove from pan.

With the pan over high heat, pour in the chicken broth. Cook on high for 3 to 5 minutes, scraping the bottom of the pan to deglaze. Reduce the heat to medium-low and pour in cream, stirring/whisking constantly. Cook sauce over medium-low heat for a few minutes, until cream starts to thicken the mixture. (This is what was not happening for me. I’m not sure why. But I cooked it for a while and even tried adding some flour…I ended up just adding the chicken and peppers.) Taste and add freshly ground black pepper, cayenne pepper, and/or salt to taste. I usually just throw in more cajun spices! I like my sauce spicy, but of course it’s up to you :)

Lastly, add the chicken and vegetables to the sauce, making sure to include all the juices that have drained onto the plate. Stir and cook for 1 to 2 minutes, until mixture is bubbly and hot. Add drained fettuccine and toss to combine. (The fact that my sauce didn’t thickehn much didn’t matter after I added the pasta).

You should totally try making this at home! And remember the fan and oil bit.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: BBQ Sliders and stuff « Just Everyday Me
  2. Trackback: Potato Wedges and Veggies « Just Everyday Me

Leave a Reply

