The Cake-Cookie Semi-Fiasco

So it’s the end of the school year *loud cheering* and I was going to make cookies for my teachers. I’ve had some really excellent teachers this year and they deserve cookies! I decided to try a recipe from my friend Taylor where you make cookies using cake mix. This is a really cool idea! It’s a super easy recipe and very versatile because you can use any cake mix flavor. Taylor usually uses strawberry cake mix which makes these really interesting pink strawberry cookies! The cake flavors I chose were “triple chocolate fudge” and “party rainbow chip.” It almost seemed a shame to not make these into cakes…they looked so delicious…

Side note…what is the difference between rainbow party chip sprinkle whatever and funfetti? Let me look it up…google knows all. Well after extensive research…I think funfetti is by pilsbury and this is betty crocker. And the consensus is that this one is better! Anyways…So this cookie making process started out pretty good. We had just had Ella’s birthday party and I was so full from the 2 pieces of cake I had..hem hem. So I wasn’t in the mood to eat cookies but I had to make them so I could give them to my teachers! I started baking at like 8:30pm and everything was fine at first. This recipe really is super easy. First you cream together a stick of butter and a block of cream cheese! Or neufchatel which is slightly not as bad for you.

It looks so yummy and creamy! Then you add an egg and some vanilla.

You mix that up until it’s all nice and smooth. Then you add your box of cake mix. Now this part is very important. You have to stir in the cake mix with a wooden spoon.

Why a wooden spoon? Because it will make you feel like the most awesome person ever. Because you probably are. It’s true.

Here’s party rainbow chip!

And triple chocolate fudge! When making these cookies, you can add whatever you want to the batter (how it tastes may differ…). I didn’t add anything to the first but I threw in a cup of chocolate chips in the second. More chocolate=more better-er.

Now I was so full but I did manage to choke down some of the dough. I was rather skeptical because the dough tasted kinda strange…but I just went with it! At this point you roll the dough into little balls and roll them in powdered sugar. Then you put them on cookie sheets. I had to bake each cookie type in 2 separate batches because there were 3 trays of cookies for each.

Then you bake them at 350 for 10ish minutes. The rainbow sprinkle ones came out looking all fluffy and delicious! The only thing was that the first batch was burned on the bottoms. They still taste good but I’d rather they weren’t burned…for the last tray I lowered the temp to like 340 and cooked for a little less time and the bottoms weren’t burned! (Does putting down parchment paper help keep the bottoms from burning? Maybe I’ll try that next time.)

These cookies really do taste like funfetti! They have an almost cake-like texture. Really yummy. I look forward to making them again.

So you may be thinking, what is the fiasco part of this post? Haha well don’t worry, it’s coming. So I had baked my 3 trays of rainbow cookies. Then I made the chocolate ones and put them on the trays and stuck the first 2 trays in the oven. When the timer beeped, I checked the cookies and they were oddly not cooked…hmm. And then I realized the oven was not very hot. Uhhhh…oh no. See our oven stops working whenever it feels like it. And apparently that’s what happened. So I tried turning it off and back on again, I pre-heated it again, I tried everything I could and it didn’t work. So here I have 2 trays of cookies in the oven and no way to finish cooking them. My solution? Broil them! Yeah..I was desperate. So I broiled the cookies and it worked at first but then they started burning and I took them out of the oven.

You know I think it would have worked if I had taken them out a little faster…But oh well.

A couple of the cookies didn’t burn and I tried those and they were actually fine. But the majority ended up in the trash…sad.

Well the good news is that I had already made the rainbow cookies and I had one more tray of uncooked chocolate cookies. I put those in the refridgerator and baked those this morning when the oven was working again. Those cookies turned out great! My teachers therefore got 4 rainbow cookies and 1 chocolate one…It’s the though that counts!

These cookies are really good, though. I want to try making them with all sorts of cake mixes!

Box Cake Cookies

Recipe from Taylor

Ingredients:

1 stick of butter

1 8oz block of cream cheese

1 egg

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1 box cake mix (any flavor)

Any chocolate chips or whatever that you want to add

1 cup powdered sugar (for rolling cookies in)

Directions:

Cream together butter and cream cheeese until smooth. And the egg and vanilla and blend those until creamy. Slowly stir in the cake mix. Add chocolate chips if you feel like it. Form into 1 in balls and roll in powdered sugar. Put on cookie trays and cook at 350 degrees for 10-ish minutes. Makes about 40 cookies, depending on size.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Joanne
    May 23, 2011 @ 20:42:02

    Okay – can I tell you that I love that you will try anything?! Awesome! Oh, and very entertaining!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

