Sour Cream Coffee Cake Muffins

I was looking for recipes on the interwebs and I ended up on the Cooking Light website. They had a whole section on “healthy muffins.” A lot of the muffins looked absolutely delicious so I decided to make the Sour Cream Coffee Cake Muffins! I adjusted several things when making these and they ended up being well, not so healthy. They’re about 240 calories which is pretty high (but not as high as packaged muffins which are like 400 calories). But anyways, healthy or not these muffins turned out delicious! They’re fluffy and very sweet. Next time I make them I’ll probably make them with a little less brown sugar topping. I would definitely recommend you making these :)

Here is the batter. A brown sugar and cinnamon mixture is gently folded into the batter.

This recipe is supposed to make 18 muffins and I suppose I could have made that many if I really tried. I opted for making 14 muffins instead. However, I only had 12 of my nifty little muffin liners.

I ended up putting the batter of 4 muffins just in the muffins pan without a liner. Then I took 4 liners and filled them with muffin batter and put them on a cookie sheet (these are my nifty free standing muffin liners, remember?)

After you put the muffins in the tin, you top them with some extra brown sugar/cinnamon mixture.

The recipe called for baking these at 400 degrees for 25 minutes. Our oven tends to run hot so I baked them at 380 degrees and they were done after 20 minutes. After you take them out of the oven and let them cool, you put a little bit of powder-sugar glaze on them. The recipe called for a orange-flavor glaze but we didn’t have orange juice so I just made a plain glaze. It was very good! But again, I would probably make these less-sweet next time by putting less topping or frosting on.

Eat the muffins warm with a little bit of butter. Yum!

Side note: The muffins I put in the tin without a liner were slightly burned and I ended up tossing them. I would definitely use liners no matter what.

Sour Cream Coffee Cake Muffins (adapted from Cooking Light)

Yield: 14 muffins

Ingredients:
1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 eggs
1 cup reduced-fat sour cream
2 tablespoons water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
Muffin tin liners
6 tablespoons powdered sugar
3 teaspoons milk

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400° (or lower, depending on oven).
Brown sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl; set aside.
Place granulated sugar and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended (about 3 minutes). Add eggs and beat until blended. Beat in sour cream, water, and vanilla.
Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Make a well in center of mixture; add sour cream mixture. Stir just until com1bined.
Place 3 tablespoons brown sugar mixture in a small bowl; set aside. Sprinkle surface of batter with remaining brown sugar mixture. Gently fold batter 4 times (do not mix the brown sugar into the batter, gently fold it in so it’s swirled into the batter).
Place 14 paper muffin cup liners in muffin cups; coat liners with cooking spray. Spoon batter into prepared cups. Sprinkle batter evenly with reserved brown sugar mixture. Bake at 400° for 20 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Remove muffins from pan immediately; place on a wire rack. Cool 10 minutes.
Combine powdered sugar and milk, stirring until smooth. Drizzle powdered sugar mixture evenly over muffins.

Leave a Reply

