Insane Crazy Ridiculous Chocolate Chip Cookie Oreo Brownies

My sister Celina’s birthday is my excuse to bake insane, over-the-top cakes (like the Oreo Cake I made for her this last year). My boyfriend is my excuse to bake ridiculously decadent desserts (like the Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies). I feel like I’m sensing a pattern here…all my insane desserts include Oreos. And this one is no different!

On Sunday, my boyfriend and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary :) I can’t believe it’s been 2 years already! That just blows my mind. I am so incredibly luchy to have him as a boyfriend, he is seriously the sweetest guy ever. I drove to see him at college and we went out to the movies and saw The Lion King! While it’s not my favorite movie anymore, it was when I was little and it’s his, too. I’m excited I got to see it in theaters! I forgot how much I love the music and the story and everything! After the movie, we went to J. Alexander’s for dinner. I loooovve this restaurant! We got the spinach queso as an appetizer which I absolutely love. I got the French Dip for dinner which is good but I think it’s just too much meat for me- I prefer their rattlesnake pasta or one of their salads. For dessert we shared the Best Ever Chocolate Cake, which seriously just may be the best ever. It’s a chocolate bunt cake with lots of hot fudge and a huge scoop of ice cream. I would go to this restaurant just for this cake. Seriously. (I actually found a copy-cat recipe and want to try it soon! I just have to get a bunt pan first). I had a great time on our date!

For his present, I knew I was going to bake him something. I made the Oreo Stuffed Cookies for his birthday about a month ago and he seriously loved them. He has been bugging me to make them ever since. I was going to make them for our anniversary but I have so many recipes saved that I want to make and I wanted to try something new…so I decided to make chocolate chip cookie oreo brownies, or Ultimate Brownies as Amanda from Kevin and Amanda calls them. These brownie-cookie-bar things looked incredibly good but I was worried that baking the cookie dough and brownie layer together would result in a dry, not gooey layers. I was worried for nothing! Every layer of this creation was perfect- the chocolate chip cookie dough one is probably my favorite! The oreos got all soft and delicious and the brownies were gooey perfection.

So what’s the verdict? Are these better than the Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies? My mom and boyfriend both liked the brownies but thought the cookies were better. Celina liked the brownies. I loved them both and I think the one I favor depends on my mood. I think if you eat the brownies, you have to eat them warm with vanilla ice cream. I’ve been having that for dessert and it is just delicious! However, I think in the future I’ll use regular stuffed Oreos because the double stuffed ones make it a little bit too sweet. And you know it’s sweet if I’m saying that!

First, make up a batch of chocolate chip cookie dough. Proceed to eat massive quantities of raw dough.

Line a 9 by 13in baking pan with parchment paper that’s been sprayed with Pam. Put the cookie dough in the pan and lick the bowl clean.

This is when I started to realize how ridiculous this dessert was.

But we’re not done yet!

Mmhhmm that’s right. Make up a big batch of brownies!

Pour it over the cookie dough and oreos and then eat a bunch of brownie batter.

Put it in the oven and, while it’s baking, take an extra oreo and put some cookie dough on it, drizzle it with brownie batter, and eat it. Not that I did that. And I certainly didn’t do that twice.

And enjoy! (Amanda’s picture looks much prettier than this…I suppose I should try a little harder to take pretty pictures of my final product but it’s hard to do when I’m so busy eating it!)

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie-Oreo-Fudge Brownie Bar

Recipe from Kevin and Amanda.

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup light brown sugar
2 large eggs
1 Tablespoon pure vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups (12 ounces) milk chocolate chips
1 package Oreos (I would do regular stuffed but go for double stuffed if you like things incredibly sweet!)
1 Family Size (9×13) Brownie mix
1/4 cup hot fudge topping (I didn’t use this because we didn’t have any hot fudge. I don’t think you really need it but I’m sure it’s great with it, too!)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and line a 9 by 13 in baking pan with parchment paper that has been generously sprayed with Pam.
  2. In a large bowl, cream the butter and both sugars with a mixer on medium speed for 3-5 minutes. Then add the eggs and vanilla and beat to combine.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking soda, and salt together. Gradually beat the flour mixture to the butter mixture until just incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips (with a wooden spoon).
  4. Spread the cookie dough out in your prepared pan and top with a layer of Oreos.
  5. Prepare the brownie mix according to the directions on the box, adding the 1/4 cup of hot fudge if you so desire.
  6.  Mix together brownie mix, adding an optional 1/4 cup of hot fudge topping to the mix if you so desire. Pour the brownie batter over the cookie dough and Oreos.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees F for 45-55 minutes.

This recipe made an INSANE amount of brownies! I gave about half of them to my boyfriend and my family still had a ton left over. You can halve this recipe, using an 8 by 8 brownie mix and half the cookie dough. Or you can make the full amount and give some away to some very happy people!

Enjoy!

I shared this on Sweet as a Sugar Cookie :)

 

Leave a Reply

